To share your work, you need to invite your Team Member to the Style Guide, Library, or a Project you are working on. Once invited, they will get an email invitation and access to the given project.

Users must be invited from within Style Guides, Projects, or Libraries. This means that a user cannot be invited to an entire Frontify environment with one single invite - they must be added to each Style Guide, Project, or Library that you want to share with them.

Here's how to invite a user to  Style Guide, Project, or Library:

  1. Login to Frontify & open your Style Guide, Project, or Library

  2. Click on the "Team" people icon in the PowerBar on the left-hand side

  3. Enter the email of your team members & choose their role: 

  • Viewer - can only view the content 

  • Editor - can edit the content and invite other editors/viewers

  • Owner - can edit & delete the complete Style Guide and invite other Owners/Editors/Viewers

4. Click invite.

Temporary access:

The temporary access functionality allows you to have closer control over the users’ time in your projects, guidelines, and library assets, by limiting users to access these for a determined period of time. Once the time runs out, the user won’t have access to the project, guideline, or asset anymore.

This can be applied when you have, for example, external collaborators in limited-time projects, clients who’d wish to have a look at your guidelines, or design agencies using your libraries’ assets.

This functionality is of particular importance for your brand, as it’s targeted to the security of your assets and the work you are sharing. By limiting access to users, you can be sure that they’re not able to access it, even after the project is over.

Setting Up Temporary Access

The limitation is set on individual users, or groups, on individual guidelines, libraries, and projects. It can be accessed through the Team icon in the Power Bar, from the location where you want to limit the access.

New User

At this stage, you can invite a new user to the list, by adding the user’s email address on the top section on the Team panel. Here, you can add the user’s role and also include temporary access if needed. Simply add the start and end date you’d wish to give this person access.

Temporary Access for Groups

In the same way, head to the Team icon in the power bar. Instead of selecting the Individual tab on the top of the panel, select the Group one. There you’ll find the list of groups that have been previously created, and can be selected, using the boxes on the side of each team. Select the ones preferred, and just like for the individual option; add their role, and then select the temporary option to add their access date.

When inviting the group or teams with temporary access, it’ll be displayed at the bottom of the panel.

Review Temporary Access

It’s important to stay up to date on the status of the users with temporary access, especially in bigger companies. It’ll help owners or creators to keep track of these users and take the necessary measures in case there’s a need for extending (or shortening) the access of users.

That’s why we’ve added extensive information on temporary invites in several locations of the user management overview, as well as in the team management pages of your guidelines, projects, and libraries.

Creators and owners of projects, guidelines, or libraries will get notified by email when temporary accesses are going to end – giving them enough time to take the action. Notification receivers and time can be configured through our Support team.

Sending User or Group Invites Without Email Notifications

There are many cases when as owners you need to invite users to a project, guideline, or library without notifying them through email. We have given the account, project owners, and editors the option to turn off email notifications when it’s unnecessary or too early for users to get notified.

User Management - Invite Individual Users without Email Notification

Account admins can send invitations through the User Management view and select the ‘no notification’ toggle.

Click on the Invite Users option on the right-hand side of the User Management page. A new window will allow you to add the emails of the new users, and if you wish, to add them to a specific group.

The ‘Send email notification’ section will be toggle activated. But, if you wish to deactivate email notifications you just need to toggle back to deactivate them.

Invite Groups Without an Email Notifications for Guidelines, Projects, and Library.

For user groups, the deactivation of the notification email can be found when inviting users. Simply, click on the Team icon on the Power Bar which will open up a side panel. You can then select the Group tab where you’ll be able to deselect the email notifications by toggling back to deactivate them.

This feature helps you further manage your updates and communication to prioritize what information your users shouldn't miss out on.

User Management and Invitations for Enterprise Plans:

  1. Individual user invites work the same way as described above

  2. Users can also be added from the Usage Overview page (/usage) of Frontify but it will only add them to the user list and will not grant access to any of the Style Guides, Projects, or Libraries. For access, they must be added from within the Style Guide, Project, or Library itself or be added to a User Group that has access already.

  3. Enterprise plan offers other options, too: SSO (Single Sign-On), Request Access, the above-mentioned Groups. For more information, please read User Access Management

Did this answer your question?