Skip to main content

User Management Overview

This article will provide you with all the information and links you need to keep oversight on your user management.


Access Management page

As an account admin, you can manage users on the Access Management page. To locate the page, either click on your profile picture at the bottom of the Power Bar and then select ‘Access Management’ or click on the 'Access management' icon directly above your profile picture in the Power bar.

In the user overview tab, you can invite new users, export user lists, search for users, grant and take away account admin rights, and assign users to projects, groups, and targets.

Admins can also grant admin access by toggling the admin permission in the user management area. To assign yourself an Editor or Owner role for a specific guideline, go to Access Management, find your profile in the Users list, and select the desired role.

Users tab

In the user overview tab, you can invite new users, export user lists, search for users, grant and take away account admin rights, and assign users to projects, groups, and targets.

Additionally, admins can grant admin access to users by toggling the admin permission in the user management area. Admins can also assign themselves Editor or Owner roles for specific guidelines by navigating to Access Management, locating their profile in the Users list, and assigning the desired role.

Administrators can also export user data in CSV format by clicking the Export Users to CSV button. This feature allows them to analyze user data, such as filtering for specific user groups or verifying their last login details.

Guidelines tab

The guidelines tab lists all available Style Guides and provides information about ownership, the brand they relate to, and the users involved. By clicking on the cogwheel symbol at the end of each column, you can change the name of the Style Guide and modify its background image.

Projects tab

The projects tab provides details about every project created in your Frontify environment. In addition to the information mentioned above in the guidelines tab section, the project type – either Workspace or Media Library – is also visible.

Groups tab

Under the group tab, you can either create new groups or view and manage existing ones. Find basic information like name and type of groups, view the accessibility of each group, and which targets they were assigned to. Further, you can easily add or remove users from the group. To view the members of a group, select the number displayed next to the group name to open a pop-up listing all group members. Adding a user to a group with editing rights automatically gives them those permissions, simplifying access management.

Targets tab

The target tab lets you create new targets or modify existing ones. Change the name and description of targets. Further, look at the count of public link shares and how many users and groups belong to each target.

Adding and Removing Users

Adding users to Style Guides, projects, or libraries can be done in different ways. There are three ways to gain access to the Frontify environment:

Read this article to learn more about user access management.

To remove a user from a specific project, library, or Style Guide, you have to enter the respective environment first. Then, follow the instructions of this article.

If a user reports that they cannot access a project or see a 403 error, this usually means they are already part of the environment but have not been added to that specific project, library, or guideline. An Owner or Editor of that space must grant access individually or through a group.

Tip: The Team tab only lists directly invited individuals and groups with access. To check a user's permissions, search for the user on the Usage page to view their access and permission levels.

Note: Permissions do not carry over when duplicating a guideline or creating a new brand. You must set up access permissions again in the copied guideline.

Managing Access Rights

When you add users to Frontify, you have the option to grant different user roles and permissions. This article provides you with an overview of all existing roles.

If you would like to add and remove other account admins, this article helps you do so.

Did this answer your question?